Election Results for Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4

Reading time: 4 minutes
Illustrated voters box with inserted ballot

The votes have been counted and the incumbents in all four districts will be returning to Council. We also welcome our new Council member, Dr. Ian Preyra, who was acclaimed in District 4. Congratulations and thank you to all who put their names forward to become involved in medical regulation in Ontario.

District 1

Counties of Essex, Kent and Lambton

Dr. Deborah Hellyer

Dr. Deborah Hellyer

Graduated From: Western University
Principal area of practice: Respiratory Medicine
Current hospital appointments: Windsor Regional Hospital and Hotel Dieu Grace Healthcare

We welcome Dr. Hellyer back for her second term of Council. She has been in medical practice in Ontario since 1978 and practises respiratory medicine in Windsor.

Dr. Hellyer is a former Chair of the Physician Human Resources Committee (OMA), in which various strategies were implemented to improve physician numbers in Ontario. Currently, she is on the Patient and Family Engagement and Ethics Committees at Hotel Dieu Grace Healthcare and is Medical Director of the Pulmonary Rehabilitation program. This year, Dr. Hellyer will sit on the Discipline, Fitness to Practice and Quality Assurance Committees.

District 2

Counties of Elgin, Huron, Middlesex, Oxford, and Perth

Dr. Robert Gratton

Dr. Robert Gratton

Graduated From: Western University
Principal area of practice: Obstetrics/Gynecolog/Maternal-Fetal Medicine
Current hospital appointments: London Health Sciences Centre

We welcome Dr. Gratton back to Council for his second term.

Dr. Gratton brings more than 20 years of clinical practice as an OB-GYN and has been the chair of the Obstetrical and Neonatal Quality of Care Committee and Chief of Obstetrics at London Health Sciences Centre.

Over the past three years at the CPSO, Dr. Gratton has served on the Inquiries, Complaints and Reports (ICR) Committee as well as the Finance & Audit Committee. Prior to being elected to Council, Dr. Gratton sat on the Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee of the CPSO as a non-Council Member. This year, Dr. Gratton will sit on the Finance & Audit and ICR Committees.

District 3

Counties of Bruce, Dufferin, Grey, Wellington, and the Regional Municipality of Waterloo

Dr. Jerry Rosenblum

Dr. Jerry Rosenblum

Graduated From: University of Toronto
Principal area of practice: Anesthesiology
Current hospital appointments: Grand River Hospital, Kitchener; St. Mary’s Hospital, Kitchener; MacKenzie Health Centre, Richmond Hill (honorary)

We welcome Dr. Rosenblum back for his third and final term at Council. Dr. Rosenblum has sat on nearly every College committee: Premises Inspection; Governance; Finance; Outreach; and Inquiries, Complaints and Reports (ICR) Committees. Before joining Council in 2013, he worked as a peer assessor and sat on the Patient Relations Committee and the ICRC as a non-Council member.

Dr. Rosenblum began his medical career as a general practitioner and emergency physician in small communities in Ontario. He completed an anesthesiology residency in 1990. This year, Dr. Rosenblum will sit on the Governance, ICR and Premises Inspection Committees.

District 4

County of Brant and the regional municipalities of Haldimand-Norfolk, Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth, and Niagara

Dr. Brenda Copps

Dr. Brenda Copps

Graduated From: McMaster University
Principal area of practice: Family Medicine
Current hospital appointments: St. Joseph’s Healthcare System, Hamilton; Hamilton Health Sciences

Dr. Brenda Copps begins her third and final term on Council as College President. Over the years on Council, she has worked on the Education; Governance; Executive; Finance & Audit; ICR; and Outreach Committees and was co-chair of the Quality Assurance Committee. Prior to her election to Council, she had worked at the College as a peer assessor and medical inspector.

Besides having a full-time family practice, Dr. Copps has worked in leadership positions at all levels of the Hamilton health-care system, including a term as chief of the Department of Family Medicine at St. Joseph’s Hospital, and board member and Chairperson of the Hamilton Family Health Team. Dr. Copps will sit on the Executive, Finance & Audit and Governance Committees.

Dr. Ian Preyra

Dr. Ian Preyra

Graduated From: Queen’s University
Principal area of practice: Emergency Medicine
Current hospital appointments: Chief of Staff at St. Joseph Brant Hospital + St. Josephs Healthcare System Hamilton

Welcome to the College Council, Dr. Preyra! Dr. Preyra is an emergency physician and a coroner with an MBA. He is the Chief of Staff and Chief of Emergency Medicine at both academic and community hospitals in Hamilton and Burlington as well as a residency program director. Dr. Preyra has worked in both peer review and the practice assessment processes at the CPSO.

Dr. Preyra will begin his work on Council as a member of the Discipline Committee.