Election Results

Reading time: 4 minutes
Voters box labelled "Results"

An election in Districts 6,7, 8 and 9 saw the return of three incumbents. We also welcome two new members to the Council table.

District 6

Counties of Frontenac, Haliburton, Hastings, Leeds and Grenville, Lennox and Addington, Northumberland, Peterborough, Prince Edward and Victoria

Dr. Rupa Patel

Dr. Rupa Patel (Elected)

Principal Area of Practice: Family Medicine
Location: Kingston

Dr. Patel is a new member of Council. 

Dr. Patel is a family physician who has worked in multiple practice settings over the past 25 years, including a remote community in northern Ontario and as a GP-oncologist/hospitalist.

For the past 12 years, she has worked in a community health centre setting that provides care to vulnerable populations. She also provides intrapartum care in her practice and is the Program Director of the Women’s Health Program at the Queens University Department of Family Medicine.

Dr. Patel is actively involved in teaching at the medical student and resident level. Her research and education interests include trauma-informed care and responsible opioid prescribing.

District 7

Counties of Dundas, Glengarry, Lanark, Prescott, Renfrew, Russell and Stormont, and the Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton

Dr. Judith Plante

Dr. Judith Plante (Re-elected)

Principal Area of Practice: Family Medicine
Location: Pembroke

Dr. Plante has been returned to the Council table for her third and final term. She is currently serving as CPSO’s President.

Dr. Plante is a family physician and former Chief of Family Medicine at Pembroke Regional Hospital. She continues to have privileges at the hospital, although she retired from full-time clinical practice.

Dr. Plante has been a member of the Registration Committee and Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee (ICRC) over the past six years. She has chaired the Family Medicine section of ICRC, currently chairs the Executive Committee, and is a member of the Finance and Audit Committee. In the coming year, she will chair the Governance Committee and return to Registration as its Chair.

Dr. Sarah Reid

Dr. Sarah Reid (Re-elected)

Principal Area of Practice: Pediatric Emergency Medicine
Location: Ottawa

This is Dr. Reid’s second term as a Council member, having been elected for the first time in 2018.

She is a pediatric emergency physician and educator at Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO).

Dr. Reid has served as Director of Continuing Medical Education for the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Ottawa and Medical Director for the CHEO Emergency Department Outreach Program. Currently, she is the Editor and Ontario Lead for Translating Emergency Knowledge for Kids, a knowledge mobilization network developing clinical resources for use in emergency departments across Canada.

At CPSO, Dr. Reid is a member of the Policy Review Working Group and is Vice-Chair of the Quality Assurance Committee.

District 8

Territorial districts of Algoma, Cochrane, Manitoulin, Nipissing, Parry Sound, Sudbury, and Timiskaming

Dr. Lionel Marks de Chabris

Dr. Lionel Marks de Chabris (Acclaimed)

Principal Area of Practice: Pain Medicine and Addiction Medicine
Location: Sudbury

Dr. Marks de Chabris is a new member of Council.

He is a full-time clinician with a practice focus in Pain Medicine and Addiction Medicine. He is also the Chief Medical Officer of a life sciences company.

A graduate of McGill University Medical School, he was board certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada in Family Medicine and Emergency Medicine in 1991. He became a Fellow of the College in 2001. In 2009, Dr. Marks de Chabris focused his practice to Pain Medicine and Addiction Medicine.

He is a diplomate of the American Academy of Pain Management, the Canadian Academy of Pain Management and the American Board of Addiction Medicine.

District 9

Territorial districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay

Dr. Andrew Turner

Dr. Andrew Turner (Acclaimed)

Principal Area of Practice: Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery
Location: Thunder Bay

Dr. Turner has been returned to Council for his third and final term.

He has been in active practice in Thunder Bay for 25 years. He formerly served as a long-time Chief of Surgery, Chief of Staff at the Thunder Bay Regional Health Sciences Centre, and has active faculty engagement at the Northern Ontario School of Medicine.  Dr. Turner currently serves on CPSO’s Discipline and Premises Inspection committees.