Introducing CPSO’s New President, Vice-President

Reading time: 2 minutes
Illustration of a megaphone

Drs. Judith Plante and Janet van Vlymen take on leadership roles

Dr. Judith Plante

Dr. Judith Plante

At the December meeting of Council, Dr. Judith Plante became the new President of the College.

Dr. Plante is a family physician, who lives in Pembroke. She is a former Chief of Family Medicine at Pembroke Regional Hospital and continues to have privileges at the hospital, although she retired from full-time clinical practice.

Dr. Plante was the first Director of the Pembroke Family Medicine Teaching Unit of the University of Ottawa, and held this position from 2008-2016.

Dr. Plante, who received her medical education at McGill and University of Ottawa, has been an elected member of Council for five years. She worked as a member, and then Chair of the CPSO’s Registration Committee. She was also a member of the Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee (ICRC) and has chaired the Family Medicine section of the ICRC, as well as participating in several policy review working groups. 

 In the coming year, Dr. Plante will chair the Executive Committee.

Dr. Janet van Vlymen

Dr. Janet van Vlymen

At the December meeting of Council, Dr. Janet van Vlymen became the new Vice-President of the College.

Dr. van Vlymen is an Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine at Kingston Health Sciences Centre. 

Dr. van Vlymen joined the Faculty of Medicine at Queen’s University in 1998 after completing an ambulatory anesthesia fellowship in Dallas, Texas. She was appointed Medical Director of Pre-Surgical Screening in 2000, where she developed a streamlined, patient-centred program to prepare patients for surgery.

Dr. van Vlymen was appointed Program Medical Director for the Perioperative Services program at KHSC in 2018 with accountability for the quality of care for all patients, throughout their surgical experience. 

In 2016, Dr. van Vlymen was appointed as the Academic Representative for Queen’s University. She was recently appointed Chair of both the Education Advisory Group and Quality Assurance Committee.